False starts & Final thoughts

Ok,
So I’ve done very little in the way of exercise since the marathon, other than a few 20 mile bike rides, so it’s fair to say I’m not in great shape.
In my defence, my son was born 5 weeks prematurely in June so I’ve had plenty to keep me occupied. Milo hasn’t quite grasped the fact that humans by and large are not a nocturnal race, which has been challenging but all other aspects of having him around more than make up for it
Some less favourable events with my teenage son however have reminded me how easy it can be to slip back into a negative frame of mind and after all my preaching on here during my marathon training it’d be remiss of me to not get back out running soon. Particularly when the sparse amount of sleep I currently get increases the likelihood of me feeling less than chirpy.

I certainly wasn’t short of any inspiration to get my back into some form of regular sweating. The Tour De France played a big part in getting me out on my bike, and then at the end of July we travelled back to my birth home of Glasgow to catch some of the commonwealth games.
It struck me how lucky I have been that in the past 2 years, both my birth home and adopted home have been host cities for large scale sports events. Glasgow 2014 & London 2012.
While the Level of competition at both events wasn’t the same, the atmosphere at events and in the city in general was comparable.
I hope that lots more of my fellow Glaswegians have been inspired to take up some kind of sport, as it’s sadly still one of the worst places in Europe for heart disease and generally unhealthy lifestyle choices.

Myself, I’m desperate to get back out, whether it be on the bike or on my feet.
I’ve decided that my immediate challenge is my 5k time at Parkrun. 20:33 is my PB which I have to thank my oldest son for. He ran with me on that occasion and trying to keep up with him was the key!
Having trained for the marathon, then had an extended break, it’ll be a while before I can get back up to speed for a smaller quicker distance like 5k but I believe I can post a sub 20 min time for the distance, so that is my goal.
Once I do that, then I may look at beating my half marathon PB but that’s a way off yet.

EAKING NEWS…..BREAKING NEWS….BREAKING NEWS…..(quite literally)
Just as I was preparing a new running regime, I’ve gone and broken my toe. Once again it was an injury sustained while playing 5’s for the Hat Trick Monkeys.
Blog_Toe

Graeme of a few years ago, would look at this as fate. i.e I also broke a bone (wrist) playing 5’s just before my marathon attempt and that turned out well (with my PB being smashed by 19 mins). So maybe it’s an omen.
Graeme of now, However, doesn’t believe in fate or karma because to do so would mean that I was a right nasty b**tard in a former life if what’s happened to me since was anything to go by.
Graeme of now also thinks referring to yourself in the 3rd person is a pr*ck’s game, so I’ll stop that tout suite.
Anyway, until the toe heals, the 5k PB attempt is on hold which means this blog is also on hold, so apologies for the false start but I may use the spare time to update my photoblog instead which you can find here: Reflex Mirror

Graeme.

Just wanted to add a wee footnote about the sad death of Robin Williams, as it relates partly to the purpose of my blog.
A lot of folk look at people’s lives when they mention depression and make a judgement about whether they are ‘allowed’ to be suffering or not. I know this as I’ve done it myself, before I really understood the condition and felt its effects. (Some folk would even call that Karma, not me tho…!)
A Hollywood star, rich beyond comprehension and adored by millions? Not allowed to complain about depression
A homeless resident of Gaza stuck in an infinite loop of avoiding death and cease fires. Yep, send over the Prozac.
I hope that if one good thing can come of Robin Williams death, it’s that people realise that Depression isn’t discriminatory. From the outside you may seem like the sun shines out of your arse, but on he inside it’s very different. It’s easy to put on a front most of the time, even though you want people to know the truth. There’s a Snow Patrol lyric I love that sums it up for me brilliantly.

I tried to tell you before I left
But I was screaming under my breath

(The song is “It’s beginning to get to me”)

If you ever suspect a close friend/relative is not having the greatest of time, then don’t always take the first “I’m fine” response, if you know that person well you’ll probably know yourself if it’s a hollow claim or not.
And with that Jerry Springer style final thought ending I’m off to put my broken foot up and relax.

Leave a Reply

